Database Re-Build

General discussion about the Trainz content manager tool, right from the content manager in early versions up to the Trainz A New Era content manager.
clivegwr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:38 pm

Database Re-Build

Unread postby clivegwr » Sat Dec 19, 2015 10:42 am

My problem with the above function is that it keeps activating itself when I load a route in surveyor (T:ane). It takes around 600 seconds each time.
Is it possible to disable this function and run it when required. I did not have this problem with TRS12 so is it a problem related to T:ane only?
I have checked the result file and apart from the usual warnings and faulty assets there is nothing unusual. Does anyone have the same problem?

shaneturner12
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 5:08 pm

Re: Database Re-Build

Unread postby shaneturner12 » Sat Dec 19, 2015 3:30 pm

I haven't had it when within Surveyor, but I have seen it when starting the program (usually after a patch). If it happens regularly though it could suggest a database problem.

Shane

clivegwr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Database Re-Build

Unread postby clivegwr » Sun Dec 20, 2015 10:11 am

Sorry the database rebuild starts up when you start the trainz program, but is hidden behind the main screen. You only notice it when you try to load a route. I think I have traced the cause to the frequent program crash events in surveyor(T:ane) . I am hoping that the soon to be out, service pack for T:ane could be the answer. Clive

shaneturner12
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 5:08 pm

Re: Database Re-Build

Unread postby shaneturner12 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 2:05 pm

SP1 should sort that issue out - the current beta builds don't appear to have that problem.

Shane

clivegwr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Database Re-Build

Unread postby clivegwr » Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:25 pm

I have now Downloaded Tane SP and have used it for two days. The Good News is that I have had No Program Crashes and only one Database rebuild.
The Content manager has been modified and seems to be far less sluggish. I still have the problem with some of my older content, where for example
the gaps in a fence instead of being transparent are black.

Clive

User avatar
clam1952
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:38 pm
Location: UK - Staffordshire

Re: Database Re-Build

Unread postby clam1952 » Sun Dec 27, 2015 3:37 pm

Make sure your Antialiasing is set to 8, that appears to "fix" the problem for the moment. Leastwise here it does.

clivegwr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Database Re-Build

Unread postby clivegwr » Mon Dec 28, 2015 12:12 pm

Thanks for the tip. That seems to have cured the problem of the black background. Its previous setting was 2.

Clive


Return to “Content Manager”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests